Florida minimum wage rises to $8.46 per hour beginning Tuesday
TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida’s minimum wage rises to $8.46 per hour beginning New Year’s Day.
The minimum wage per hour for tipped employees rises to $5.44.
According to Floridajobs.org, the minimum wage rate is recalculated yearly on Sept. 30, based on the Consumer Price Index.
The current minimum wage in Florida is $8.25.
Employees who don’t receive at least the new minimum wage after notifying their employer and giving the employer 15 days to resolve any claims for unpaid wages may bring a civil action against the employer to recover back wages plus damages and attorney’s fees.
Employers face a fine of $1,000 per violation if they are found liable for intentionally violating minimum wage requirements.
Copyright 2018 by WPLG Local10.com – All rights reserved.